World's Best Receptionist 2021 - The David Campbell Trophy, Hosted by the AICR

The David Campbell Trophy

The David Campbell Trophy is the award for the AICR World’s Best Receptionist. The late David Campbell became Chef de Reception at The Ritz Hotel, Paris, after gaining a wealth of International experience.

In memory of David and in acknowledgement of his dedication and passion to the industry, the International Receptionist of the Year Competition was formed, with a Trophy designed and sponsored by the Paris AICR section, to be presented each year.

Marcel Elbaz, Graham Bamford, Annie Boslem and the AICR International Committee members, worked together with the International College of Hotel Management in Adelaide, Australia, to establish the rules and format, launching the Competition in 1995 and has gained respect of hoteliers and sponsors globally.

The Competition grows from strength to strength each year and has gained the respect of Hoteliers and Sponsors. It meets its objective as a training tool for the younger generation and the future AICR and the Hospitality Industry, with the emphasis on “Amicale”.

Since 2021 and with the support of digital media, the competition has become accessible for excellent receptionists from all around the World. The David Campbell Trophy has been rebranded to the AICR World’s Best Receptionist competition and remains the ultimate recognition for service excellence in the field of hotel reception.

The 2021 Candidates

Max Vetter
Baur Au Lac Hotel - Zurich
Vithya Subramaniam
Marina Bay Sands
(1st Runner-up)
Lara Dröge
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten - Hamburg
(2nd Runner-up)
United Arab Emirates
Marie Therese Olaguer
Mandarin Oriental Jumeira - Dubai
Paris - France
Clémence Mauray
Four Seasons Hotel George V - Paris
Jessica Lian
Shanghai Business School / Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Côte d'Azur - France
Antoine Pettier
Hôtel Aston La Scala - Nice
Deborah Baranow
Park Hyatt - Vienna
Nicolas Zalonis
Le Massif - Courmayeur
United Kingdom - Scotland
Katharina Maria Strasser
The Gleneagles Hotel - Perthshire
Lucy McNamara
Crown Metropol - Melbourne
Iveesha Choudhary
Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel

The roll of honour – the previous winners of the David Campell Trophy

2021 in Geneva, Switzerland
Max Vetter
aur Au Lac Hotel - Zurich (Switzerland)
2020 in Warsaw, Poland
Nikola Farkas
Hotel Sacher Vienna, Austria
2019 in London
Estelle Niveau
Hôtel Le Meurice Paris, France
2018 in Zurich
Valentina Ventura
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Rome, Italy
2017 in Paris
Beatrice Gallo
The Connaught Hotel London, UK
2016 in Vienna
Sofia Barroso
Hotel Villa Magna Madrid, Spain
2015 in Singapore
Paula McMinn
The Savoy Hotel London, UK
2014 in Hamburg, Germany
Gwendolyn Chia
St. Regis Singapore
2013 in Rome, Italy
Maud Pfluger
Park Hyatt Vendôme Paris, France
2012 in Prague, Czech Republic
Olga Velceva
Burj Al Arab Dubai, UAE
2011 in Christchurch, New Zealand
Vanessa Kellerhals
The Dolder Grand Zürich, Switzerland
2010 in Madrid, Spain
François Lenne
Hotel Le Meurice Paris, France
2009 in Cannes, France
Eve Stacey
Hotel Intercontinental Wellington, New Zealand
2008 in Dubai, UAE
Markus Mormels
Four Seasons Canary Wharf London, UK
2007 in Tallinn, Estonia
Karene Lim
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
2006 in London, UK
Verena Fox
Four Seasons Hotel Paris, France
2005 in Basel, Switzerland
Pavlina Hejdova
Four Seasons Hotel Prague, Czech Republic
2004 in Paris, France
Alexandra Edel
Kempinski Le Mirador Mont Pélérin, Switzerland
2003 in Berlin, Germany
Edmund Lim-Chong
The Oriental Hotel Singapore
2002 in Brussels, Belgium
Aisha Ahmad
Four Seasons Singapore
2001 in Rome, Italy
Janine Muhl
The Savoy Hotel, London (UK)
2000 in Bologna, Italy
Anika Dehne
Claridge’s London, UK
1999 in Singapore
Vanessa Bourquard
Hôtel Beau Rivage Lausanne Lausanne, Switzerland
1998 in Lausanne, Switzerland
Nathan Loga
Four Seasons Singapore
1997 in Prague, Czech Republic
Dev Sharma
Widder Hotel Zürich, Switzerland
1996 in Vienna, Austria
Fiona Reisch
Intercontinental Hotel Hamburg, Germany

Get involved ...

Become a Candidate Become a Candidate

Are you interested to participate in the World’s Best Receptionist Competition?

Get in contact with us

Previous Winners Previous Winners

The competition was formed in 1995, with a Trophy designed and sponsored by the Paris AICR section, to be presented each year to the Worlds Best Receptionist.

View the past winners

Become a member Become a Member

For over 50 years the AICR ( Amicale Internationale des Sous Directeurs et Chefs de Réception des Grand Hôtels ) has developed into a dynamic international organisation represented in 16 countries, 17 sections and continues to grow.

Become part of the AICR

Our Sponsors